2017 – Stellar Year for BCxA Awards at NCBC

Each year, BCxA has the pleasure of recognizing outstanding contributions to our commissioning profession and the Association. This year, culminating in the 25th Anniversary of NCBC, was a stellar year for awards to both individuals and chapters.


In memory of Nancy Benner, the Benner Award recognizes outstanding achievement in promoting excellence and making commissioning “business as usual.” We were honored this year to have NCBC keynote speaker Janine Benner, Nancy’s daughter, stand with Liz Fischer to present the Benner Award to David Sellers, Senior Engineer at Facility Dynamics Engineering. Dave is a universally respected engineer and colleague, witnessed by many in their own words:

Instructor: “I have attended all 315 of the classes David has taught for [PG&E Pacific Energy Center], and I cannot recall an occasion when he was stumped by a student question.”

Author: “the entire Functional Testing Guideline was an absolute brain dump of all the guidelines that David had written over the years into one massive repository of knowledge…the most amazing contribution to the Cx industry I have ever seen.”

Mentor: he “provides technical, energy or thermodynamic backup and explanation on the specific issue and any related one with such prowess. How can anyone know and understand that much?”

Friend: The unparalleled work ethic, level of knowledge and generosity to which anyone that has worked with David can attest is grounded in his passionate commitment to the people he encounters, the buildings he explores and the planet we share.”

President’s Award

The President’s Award is given to a BCxA Member who has made a significant contribution to the Building Commissioning Association through participation on committees or other activities. This year, three awards were presented. The recipients each have spent extraordinary personal time and effort to further the mission of the Association:

Jeff Conner, Chairman and Principal at Grumman/Butkus, is a stalwart advocate for the BCxA and commissioning practice. He served on the Board of Directors of the Building Commissioning Association from 2010 through 2015, was past chairman of the BCxA’s Professional Development Committee, and is currently serving as Chairman of the group’s International Committee, for which he has led the BCxA’s international expansion efforts since 2013.




Tim O’Neill, Commissioning Operations Manager at Welsh Commissioning Group, led the BCCB’s quest to get the CCP ANSI-accredited, including the significant challenge of learning the ISO 17024 standard and ANSI process. Tim worked countless volunteer hours with staff to review policies and procedures, develop the appropriate committees, and directed activities to ensure a successful outcome, which ultimately benefited the BCxA membership.



Bill McMullen, Business Unit Manager, Energy Solutions at Dewberry, is a former BCxA President as well as Vice President, and liaison to the Building Commissioning Certification Board. He is dedicated to advocacy for the profession and practice of commissioning. In addition to his role at Dewberry, he is instructor of Engineering Professional Development at North Carolina State University and also teaches in the AIA 2030 challenge. He has been deeply involved in achieving BCxA’s federal recognition as a strategic partner in workforce development, and the first-ever ANSI-accredited certification of commissioning providers.



Distinguished Service Award

This year, for the first time, the BCxA presented two awards for distinguished service. The recipients, Karl Stum and Diana Bjornskov, each accepted an award for the completion and publication of the BCxA/APPA Building Commissioning Handbook, third edition. In receiving the awards, they acknowledged the significant efforts of BCxA and APPA members who contributed to the content and review of the book.

Chapter Awards

The BCxA recognizes the efforts of Chapters for performance in activities, programs and membership recruitment. Chapters are scored and evaluated for three different star award categories:


Leave a reply

We encourage you to comment on this blog. All viewpoints are welcome, but please be constructive. We reserve the right to make editorial decisions regarding submitted comments, including but not limited to removal of comments.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *